Ohio Department Of Commerce

About Ohio Department Of Commerce

The Ohio Department of Commerce is the State’s chief regulatory agency.

Our mission is to assist businesses to operate lawfully so they can succeed as jobs-creators and we can safeguard Ohioans.

The Department of Commerce is self-supporting, through fees. We issue nearly 600,000 licenses, permits, registrations and certifications each year in various professions, industries and commercial enterprises.

The Department is made of up 8 Divisions. Through the divisions, we regulate banks and savings institutions, credit unions, mortgage lenders and consumer finance businesses; Securities professionals and products; real estate professionals and cable television. The Division of Liquor Control is a part of the Department of Commerce, as is the Division of the State Fire Marshal. We regulate the building industry and collect and hold Unclaimed Funds until we can return the money to its rightful owner.

The Department of Commerce is proud to provide excellent customer service. If you do not find what you are looking for on this site, please contact us, we would be happy to assist you.


International Trade Specialist Intern

June 2018 - August 2018 Dayton, OH
“I got to meet with companies about how we could help them expand into foreign markets. I also got to research potential clients that we could target to market our capabilities to. ”
See All