Ohio Department of Natural Resources

About Ohio Department of Natural Resources

The Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) was created in 1949 by the Ohio Legislature. It is a government agency in the U.S. state of Ohio charged with maintaining natural resources such as state parks, public lands, state forests, state waterways, and recreation areas.

Divisions/Offices of ODNR include:

Office of Coastal Management
Division of Engineering
Division of Forestry
Division of Geological Survey
Office of Law Enforcement
Division of Mineral Resources Management
Division of Natural Areas and Preserves
Division of Oil and Gas Resources Management
Division of Parks and Watercraft
Office of Real Estate and Land Management
Division of Water Resources
Division of Wildlife

ODNR owns and manages more than 590,000 acres (2,400 km2) of land in 75 state parks, 20 state forests, 127 state nature preserves, and 120 wildlife areas and more than 120,000 acres (490 km2) of inland waters; 7,000 miles (11,000 km) of streams; 481 miles (774 km) of Ohio River; and 2,250,000 acres (9,100 km2) of Lake Erie.


Ohio Department of Natural Resources - Volunteer

June 2019 - October 2019 Ashtabula, OH
“I enjoyed the hands-on experience I had with ODNR assisting with Stream Quality Monitoring right in my hometown. ”

Natural Resource Worker

May 2019 - August 2019 Ravenna, OH
“Working outdoors in a State Park, not being heavily managed, relaxed work environment, relevant to my future career path”
See All