http://www.summer.vt.edu

Virginia Tech - Summer / Winter

Undergraduate Research Assistant

May - August 2018 • Blacksburg, VA

What I liked

I really liked that I could be at my desk and think about how to solve the necessary problems using Matlab or Mathematica on my computer or with a pencil and a notebook. When I encountered a challenge that required more time to think, I could troubleshoot my issue online or discuss how to approach a solution with my lab partner or the professor advising the two of us. I really liked working with the high-speed cameras to record the experiments in slow-motion, and I also enjoyed collaborating with other people and projects from outside of our lab space. Doing so helped and exposed both parties to the different techniques and equipment used to gather and analyze data.

What I wish was different

I wish we could have accomplished more, either from more directed objectives or an additional lab mate; I was and still am interested in the results from the experiments and would like to see how they are still evolving.

Advice

I advise not to underestimate the value of the content bundled in the undergraduate classes because what is taught is indeed used in the fields and serves as a baseline to develop an understanding of the problems and their solutions encountered in the professional environment.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Student Advisor

June - August 2018 • Blacksburg, VA

What I liked

Interacting with incoming students, and supporting them through their collegiate transition.

What I wish was different

I would've like to engage with other beneficiary activities. I found myself with a lot of extra time on my hands: plenty enough for me to learn a new language or an instrument.

Advice

Reach out to students. Seldom do they understand this new stage in their life, and to have an experienced mentor who genuinely cares and respects them helps so greatly.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

researcher

January 2018 • Blacksburg, VA

What I liked

Getting to set my own schedule, getting to wear whatever I wanted

What I wish was different

Paid more

Advice

great and easy way to get work experience, a good step between a retail job and an industry internship.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Student Orientation Panel

June - August 2018 • Blacksburg, VA

What I liked

What I wish was different

Advice

It was really fun and rewarding to work with incoming freshman engineering students and their families.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Virgina Tech Summer Academy Peer Mentor

June - August 2018 • Blacksburg, VA

What I liked

Having a chance to be an impact in freshmen’s first experience at Virginia Tech

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Administrative Assistant

May - June 2018 • Blacksburg, VA

What I liked

I got to learn what it's like to work in an office environment. My Excel skills improved and I got experience in communicating in a professional setting.

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Administrative Assistant

May 2018 • Blacksburg, VA

What I liked

I liked how I was put into a position of leadership and how I had a lot of influence in making bigger picture decisions.

What I wish was different

I wish there had been more oginization overall.

Advice

This position really gave me the opportunity to make it what I wanted it to be. I could be really productive or just not do much at all which taught me a lot about what it means to be a good worker.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Summer Researcher

May - July 2018 • Blacksburg, VA

What I liked

I had a lot of new experiences and I learned a lot about human biomechanics and the testing involved. In addition, everyone was very helpful and willing to explain things I didn't understand.

What I wish was different

Longer research period

Advice

Research is frustrating and time consuming, but it's definitely rewarding.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Undergraduate Research Assistant

May 2017 • Blacksburg, VA

What I liked

What I wish was different

Advice

Can be frustrating, but very rewarding and worth it. Doing undergrad research really helps reinforce everything you learn in classes and can set you up for job offers due to experience gained in college.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Assistant

September 2016 • Blacksburg, VA

What I liked

Work environment

What I wish was different

N/a

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful