http://voya.com

Voya Financial

Office Assistant

July 2017 • Hickory, NC

What I liked

I loved learning how an advisor representative develops, maintains, and manages his client base while also generating new business.

What I wish was different

I wish I had a few more hands-on retirement planning experiences through on-site 401k presentations.

Advice

It’s helpful to understand and remember the legal requirements of different types of account requests, distributions, and paperwork.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Retirement Operations Intern

May - August 2019 • Braintree, MA

What I liked

I was able to experience what it's like to work in a professional corporate office. I worked with a lot of great people who really cared about my opinions and everyone was outgoing. I learned so much and it was an all around amazing time.

What I wish was different

The only thing I wish was different is the work load. It's a new program so sometimes they didn't have enough work to keep me busy.

Advice

Don't be afraid to say hi to people. That's how you make connections and it will make the experience a lot more enjoyable.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Financial Controls Risk

June 2018 - December 2019 • Atlanta, GA

What I liked

I was able to learn a lot from business application to working with different professionals in my at Voya.

What I wish was different

Nothing, everything was awesome!

Advice

Be ready to learn and don't be afraid to ask questions.
1 person found this helpful

Actuarial Intern

May - August 2019 • Hartford, CT

What I liked

The people were fantastic, the company has a great vision and is making great strides to improve the lives of people of all kinds.

What I wish was different

I wish I had taken more opportunities to get to know people from other teams and learn from their experiences as well.

Advice

Learn excel. Become as comfortable with is as you can, because it is a skill that will pay off from even before you get the job.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Big data analytics intern

May - August 2019 • Windsor, CT

What I liked

Had good opportunities for meeting and talking to people in all positions in the company

What I wish was different

The internship program was expanded recently so it was not structured very well

Advice

Its better to ask for work and have more than you need than to be stuck doing nothing
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Operations Support Student

May - August 2019 • Des Moines, IA

What I liked

I enjoyed being able to work with multiple different teams across different locations to tackle projects.

What I wish was different

I wish there had been more college student interns at the Des Moines site - there was little to no advertising and I was the only intern in Des Moines.

Advice

A paid internship is an amazing thing to find, especially when working with such great people- take the opportunity and enjoy every second of it.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Engineer

May - August 2017 • Windsor, CT

What I liked

Great people. Very smart, passionate and kind people there who are very easy to get along with and learn from.

What I wish was different

Wish there were more code-reviews and formalized QA roles.

Advice

Branch out and meet other people of interest in the company. There is a lot to learn from everyone, not just your immediate team.
1 person found this helpful