https://www.linkedin.com/company/najfustudios/

Naj Fu Studios, LLC

Screenplay Development Intern

September - November 2020 • Chicago, IL

What I liked

This internship was an amazing way to get more comfortable with writing coverage and analyzing scripts, as well as seeing what goes into the early stages of screenplay development. It helped me feel more prepared for my future and make connections with other interns. The environment was very open and supportive. Najm made sure that the internship worked around my classes and his guidance was very helpful in expanding my skills and knowledge. We had one-on-one meetings to go over my work, as well as group meetings to further analyze the scripts and talk about how we would go about actually making the changes to get the script ready for production. Najm also took the time to give us advice on skills for networking and getting jobs in the future. It was overall a very useful and enjoyable experience.

What I wish was different

Advice

1 person found this helpful

Screenplay Development Intern

August 2020 - December 2021 • Chicago, IL

What I liked

My experience as an intern for Naj Fu Studios was great. There was a lot of individual feedback on script coverage reports and I now feel very confident in my ability to write coverage and give effective feedback on scripts as I move forward in my career. The most valuable part of this internship was participating in simulated writer's rooms where I got the opportunity to connect with the other interns and we were guided through exercises on how to solve story problems and elevate the strength of scripts. I was always treated with respect, dignity, and kindness, and it was truly a wonderful work environment. I am very grateful for the experience I had at Naj Fu Studios, and I would really recommend this internship to anyone interested in story development or screenwriting.

What I wish was different

Communication can sometimes be sporadic, but as long as you stay on top of the assignments, it shouldn't be too much of a problem.

Advice

There is a lot of independent work and you often are able to create your own schedule for assignments, so you must be able to manage your time and stay on top of work to succeed in this internship. Furthermore, you should come to conference calls with some notes prepared so you are able to properly contribute. If you are a student, I would recommend this internship as it can be pretty flexible, so you can work around your schedule.
1 person found this helpful

Script Coverage Intern

July - December 2020 • Milton, Otago

What I liked

I really enjoyed this internship because not only did I learn a lot from doing hands on work that pertains to my career path, but the work environment was extremely professional and respectful. My voice, opinions, and concerns were always heard and addressed, which further pushed me to excel in the work I was given. Despite it being a remote position, I still felt as though it was extremely collaborative, which is what filmmaking is all about. The workload was also manageable, especially in combination with school, and having a job outside of this internship. I always felt that the work I was given was relevant, and I was always given feedback.

What I wish was different

Theres really not much I would expect to be different, if anything maybe have some assignments outside of script coverage, but there was always offers for other work if that was something you were interested in.

Advice

This is definitely a more laid back position, but don't take advantage of that when turning in your work. Remain consistent and always improving to get the best benefits from this position.
1 person found this helpful

Screenplay Development Intern

July 2020 - November 2021 • Chicago, IL

What I liked

This experience was by far the best experience I've had in an internship. I found the material I was handling to be useful and engaging, and the amount I've learned about the professional industry of screenplay development and writing has grown exponentially since starting my position with Naj Fu Studios. This internship helped me sharpen my skills to critically and constructively assess script material, and ended up preparing me for my first contract as a script editor. My employer was professional, personable, helpful and kind at all times. Not once did I ever feel belittled, and he did everything to help me and my peers grow as writers/developers. He is invested in the success of his interns to a degree that is rare to find. Put simply, any student interested in screenplay development or writing would be incredibly fortunate to work with him. I liked the way the internship was structured to the availability of each intern. Work is expected, of course, but this internship gave me the flexibility to take my work at a pace that worked for me. Ironically enough, this freedom inspired me to work harder and submit my work as efficiently as possible. There is a big focus on communication in this position, which was really helpful for me. As someone who started this internship not confident in my abilities to voice my ideas, I feel as though I've grown leaps and bounds.

What I wish was different

Honestly, I'm not sure. This internship was such a positive experience for me overall.

Advice

My advice would be: work hard, be open-minded and polite, and meet deadlines. This employer will be flexible and understanding of school, mental health, scheduling, etc., but make sure that in return, you give your work the best effort you can. It will pay off and you will learn a lot. This was mentioned in a previous review from a peer of mine, but I wanted re-emphasize that the experiences written by another student months ago do not reflect any part of mine in this internship at all.
1 person found this helpful

Screenplay Development Intern

July - October 2020 • Chicago, IL

What I liked

This internship gives you the opportunity to work alongside the developers and creatives involved with pre-production of content destined for Netflix and Hulu. While not necessarily being a direct link to employment to these major companies (nor should you expect that) this internship gives you the opportunity to develop real screenplays, write coverage reports, and talk to the internship provider about key issues and what he would professionally be looking for when talking with writers and producers. He has invaluable insight. He is highly informed about the craft of screenwriting and his previous work teaching screenwriting at Columbia College definitely comes through with his approach to this internship. This internship will be valued by those of all skill levels and it is a very comfortable and learned environment to practice script reading, consulting, and development. You won't necessarily become a great screenwriter from this internship, but it doesn't advertise that, it advertises screenplay development and it delivers. While the industry is tough, this internship shelters you from an typical egoic boss, gives you access to all his educated opinions and contacts and most of all he values you way more than, really, a script reader and developer should be valued at this level. You are working with him, not for him, and for that reason this internship gives you more opportunities and room to connect with the industry if you ask for them.

What I wish was different

Communication is periodical and assignment are often very independent. If this working style doesn't work for you, don't apply.

Advice

I wouldn't take heed to the other negative review from July. The reviewer lasted less than one month and is currently, by the handshake description, working towards a fashion degree. This internship has been nothing but professional.
2 people found this helpful

screenplay development Intern

July 2020 • Chicago, IL

What I liked

What I wish was different

I decide upon termination on this internship for many reasons. I was trained by the headquarter of the department, Najm Haq. He might have experience in other fields in filmmaking, but I strongly suspect this guy does not have any experience with the field of screenwriting. Here are my reasons: The first assignment was writing coverage for a feature-length script. He DOES NOT say ANYTHING USEFUL at all except saying my coverage being structural in one simple sentence. No notes, no professional edits, NOTHING. Anyone who's been training professionally knows that there's a secret structure in the screenplay but could be various due to different genres, he denies that. Secondly, the assignment is not been assigned clearly AT ALL due to him being ignorant of the professional term. He does not know how to explain to the staff clearly on the assignment. The second assignment was to read the screenplay while watching the film and write observations, and he gives out a lot of sample questions that belong to the area of sound design and production design and causes my confusion to the assignment. He could just use the term " scene description" that would make everything clear, but he DOES NOT KNOW THE TERM. How could someone who does not even know these professional terms in the area of screenwriting training other people???? I choose the film Match Point and the screenplay is concise on the scene description, and when I referred to him, he told me that, in his own words "Match Point is a concise screenplay because woody Allen was already attached to direct". This is such an unprofessional thing to say. He is looking for more detailed scene description and hopes students comment more on that when writing coverage rather than focusing on the story structure and the theme of the movie itself which is not what I learned from the film school. A beautiful scene description could save a terrible story? Really? This is not a creative writing class. Those reasons above make me highly suspect of his profession in screenwriting.

Advice

He does not review my work carefully, I don't think my ability would be improved through this internship. I don't recommend this internship to anyone who wants to be professional in the area of screenwriting.
1 person found this helpful